[Pro] Best Way to Approach Multiple Rollovers

Hello all,

I’m a novice Freeway Pro user and after a couple of weeks of playing around with the software, watching tutorials, and forum browsing I think I’m ready to tackle my first Freeway project.

I want to create a color selector similar to the one in the link. Basically I want a larger swatch of the color, which would also include the color name/number, to appear as you mouse over it. I think it would be pretty straightforward creating this effect using the Rollover action, but as I plan to include approx. 500 colors I was hoping to get some suggestions describing the most efficient way of doing this. I have all the colors I will be using saved as 1 X 1 px PNG files. Should the larger swatch which includes the color name be created in Photoshop and imported as a graphic? Is there a better way?

I believe the Rollover 60 action should allow for up to 600 individual items. Is there a way of going beyond 600 items on a single page if I decide to include more colors? Should I use the iFrame action and target another page containing the additional items?

Thanks in advance and thanks to all the contributing members of this forum – I have found it to be an invaluable resource.

Cheers,
Roy

freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

You are going to go nuts, or die of repetitive stress injury, before you get 500 color swatch rollovers to work long-hand like this. What I would do is name each of the 1x1 pngs to match the color name, using underscore characters to replace spaces. So your file would be called Butterfly_Bush.png if that was the color name. Then I would use a single JavaScript to trigger all of the rollovers on the page. I’ll see if I can knock something together for you this weekend. Get to work renaming all of your color image files!

Walter

On Nov 16, 2012, at 10:51 PM, Roy H wrote:

Hello all,