[Pro] Combine FWP files/resources

I have two versions of a FWP file and I tried to delete the old one since I dont need it. But, when I opened the active one and tried to publish, it stated there were files that were not found and would publish at a lower resolution. I discovered that I somehow managed to use resources from that old file and its subsequent folders.

Is there an easy way to ‘transfer’ those resources into the new file default location and get rid of the old stuff?

{ex: FWP-file-A and its resources are within its site folder…some files from here are used in FWP-file-B and its new site folder.}


freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Two options.

  1. You would go to ‘Edit’ and choose ‘Resources’ and then swap out the files that way by choosing the ‘Edit’ button and then choosing ‘Locate’ and replacing that file with the ‘better-located’ one. Then you’d rinse and repeat for all the other ones.

  2. It’d probably be easiest to take document file-b and go to ‘File’ and choose ‘Save to Archive’ and that’ll pull all the ‘files,’ regardless of where they are at, into a new folder that you’ll create when you choose this menu option. Just name it something and choose ‘Save Archive’ and it’ll pull it all and give you a brand new file with everything in one location. Then open up that file and see if everything is as it goes before you go and delete file-a.

It’s kind of a choose your own adventure, but either should work.


freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Sometime around 7/10/09 (at 21:49 -0400) Beatrice said:

I have two versions of a FWP file and I tried to delete the old one
since I dont need it. But, when I opened the active one and tried to
publish, it stated there were files that were not found and would
publish at a lower resolution.

Whoops!

Well, you can simply ‘unlink’ the items in your current Freeway
document so that they only rely on the internal embedded previews
that are in your pages. As long as you don’t resize these you
shouldn’t have a resolution problem. That part of the warning refers
to the fact that Freeway won’t be able to re-read the original
graphic files to produce a better result if you enlarge that item on
the page.

To unlink images so you don’t get that warning, double-click on an
image or select it and choose Item > Modify, then click the Detached
checkbox. This will remove the link to the file, whether the actual
document is lost or not.
To do this in a slightly more wholesale manner, choose Edit > Edit
Resources and double-click each item in the list with a status of
‘Missing’, setting things to be Detached as you go.

One more thing… It may not relate to what’s happened in your case
but it is worth mentioning:
Make sure that you never, ever import graphics that are inside the
Site folder for any Freeway document. Those could be deleted or have
their names changed at Freeway’s whim, and that can cause all sorts
of headaches if you’re trying to refer to those items in your
layouts. If you need something that’s been made by Freeway then copy
it out first. But best of all, just don’t go into a Site folder.

k


freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options