This warning usually pops up when you are saving a site into a site folder that contains pages (HTML Files) produced by a freeway document with a different name.
All my Freeway sites are saved with a reverse date index i.e.: examplesite120617.freeway if i were writing it today, and i change the date part whenever i make a change so i have a history. If i were to open and publish a previous version of the site i would get the warning you mention as Freeway sees the files as belonging to a different site and so would be overwriting the ‘other’ files.
If you have renamed your document or are publishing the site into a site folder occupied by a different site you have created, this warning is going to pop up.
Is that the name of the folder ‘all’ your files are in or the folder you publish too?
Generally I would have a folder for a website project - say call HoffKids, then in that folder i have a Media Folder, a PSD’s folder (if I’ve made any artwork), a Stuff folder (for stuff and a Site Folder.
I’d save my site - and its various updates - into the HoffKids folder, where i could see them along with the other folders, and i would Publish my site into the Site Folder, keeping those files separate. If you are not sure about overwriting your site files, simply create a new Site Folder and republish into this new location. You may want to force a Publish Everything - so that Freeway will republish your entire site into that new location. I don’t have Freeway on this machine but i think if you click on file and watch whilst pressing ALT, that should give you the option. It’s one of those option keys anyway.
I have a MAIN folder on my mac called HoffkidsWebSitev2. Inside that folder is every single thing related to my website (pdf folder, site folder, audio folder, hoffkids.freeway, hoffkids.fwbackup etc.)
I RENAMED only the MAIN Folder to HoffkidsWebSite.
Can’t say for sure as i’m not able to create a quick test project here - but possibly as the path has changed.
If you want to be sure, just create a second Site Folder, perhaps Site Folder2 and publish into that. If your site project is as you want it, there is no harm overwriting your older files if you are sure you are publishing into the correct folder. IF you only have one site project anyway, all should be fine.
I was just looking at your site and i think t’s great. Having been home tutoring our son for the last few years, finding great resources has been the biggest battle. I now know more about Physics and Maths than ever before. I’d recommend it to everyone - with enough time! Fussion or Fission, I’m your man
Even the smallest of pages should have some measurable file size.
Did you publish into the same folder - It sounds like you did.
I have had the occasional ‘glitch’ whereby doing the Publish everything [CTRL CMD P] solves the problem. You can then just ftp that one page into your hosting if you don’t want to re-upload the entire site. So long as no images were renamed all should be fine.
I am wondering if it has not associated any image files with the page - hence the minimal page size. If you don’t want to try Publish Everything you could click on any images you have on the page and resample them to see if it makes a difference to the page size.
I’m just thinking out loud as I’ve not had this exact problem.
I’ve run into that before and also hesitated at first, but ultimately said “OK”.
If you’re really worried about losing work - duplicate your site folder to a backup before proceeding. If you run Time Machine you can also always go back.
And then when you’re done making a backup - make another backup on an external as well.