This is a weird one - Network Settings peculiar message

Clicking on Network in System Prefs produces a message - ‘Your Network settings have been changed by another application.’ So I click OK and the same message comes back again repeatedly and won’t go away, only a force quit will get rid of it.

What’s causing this and what are the ramifications?

I’ve just done a Software update (Tiger) if that is relevant.

Kryten


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

On 26 Oct 2008, 2:51 pm, Kryten wrote:

Clicking on Network in System Prefs produces a message - ‘Your Network settings have been changed by another application.’ So I click OK and the same message comes back again repeatedly and won’t go away, only a force quit will get rid of it.

What’s causing this and what are the ramifications?

I’ve just done a Software update (Tiger) if that is relevant.

Hi Kryten

have you got little snitch installed ? that alerts me if any applications have changed anything usually.

otherwise after a software update perhaps a repair permissions run might do the trick.

Do you have a copy of macaroni installed ? http://www.atomicbird.com/macaroni

I find that cures most ills and for the cost of $10 it is well worth having on your machine

Gary


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Oh the other thing you could try is go to

users>library>preferences > delete ‘com.apple.NetworkUtility.plist’

then go to

computer>library>preferences > delete ‘com.apple.networkConfig.plist’

restart your Mac and see if that makes any difference

you may have to reset any of your previous settings manually after but it won’t do any harm

worth a try if all else fails

otherwise it might be that the software update download has not worked in which case you could download the new combo update directly from Apple support ( ie not use software updater ) and run that again from the disk image ?

Gary


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Aha - I am not alone!!!

Yes this is happening with me as well - and so for the meantime I am leaving the Network section well alone.

This started for me after a recent OSX update - I am running 10.4.11 - but there was something that set it off.

I even did an archive and install and it hasn’t sorted the problem.

I have been too busy/lazy to email apple support to see if they can shed some light so I would be very interested to hear what is causing it.

David


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Ditto here…

Some research seems to point a finger at one of Apple’s latest updates (2008-006 I think they said).

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=os+x+network+settings+changed+by+another+application&btnG=Search

The suggestions I saw said something along the lines of: Hover your mouse over the ‘show all’ button (partially obscured by the dialog). Press ‘enter’ then quickly click on the ‘show all’.

For me, I had to let the dialog cycle through at least once (just pressing ok and letting the dialog reappear) before attempting this, or else the following did not appear…

You are likely to be presented with another dialog to the effect of: Save Cancel or Discard changes. I believe Don’t Save would return you to all the system preferences, but Cancel should be enough to break the cycle and keep focus in the Network Panel.

For me, the ‘lock’ icon was showing as unlocked while this was happening. Once I had control of the network setting pane, re-locking seems to have alleviated the trouble. I will have to see if this holds across a system restart, but quitting and reopening system preferences does not seem to restart the cycle.

This method should at least get you control of the preferences without having to delete any of your configuration data.


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Gents - thanks for the advice.

diarbyrag - Yes I do have Little Snitch & Macaroni installed. I deleted the files that you suggested& Repaired permissions, but that didn’t work, but Weaver you have it right!

Since locking, the problem has gone away. I was just curious as to whether the latest Tiger update had caused this or there was something else lurking waiting to cause more mischief.

Cheers for the help guys.

Kryters


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Yes I have done the lock thing as well - I am just mightily p***ed off that I went through an archive and install for nothing!

I just hope that a new update (soon) will sort the problem properly.

David


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Many people have been complaining about this problem, which certainly seems to be due to the latest security update for Tiger. Here’s how I killed it:

  1. Temporary solution:
  • Hover mouse over the “location” menu
  • Press return and quickly click on the location menu.
  • Choose “edit location”, then cancel. This cures the problem until you close system preferences and then re-open them. For a complete cure, we need to do a bit more:
  1. Edit each location in turn. For each location, do this:
  • Choose “Network Port Configurations”.
  • Deselect all port configuration options.
  • Press “Apply Now”.
  • Select port configuration options again.
  • Press “Apply Now” again.

The problem has gone (and I didn’t have to lock the preferences). My idea was to force the system to recreate the network settings for all the locations: it has apparently worked. I can’t promise it’ll work on other systems, but it’s worth a try.

Michael


offtopic mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options