Backdraft 2.1 Is Here!

Well, it’s here: http://getbackdraft.com

This update is a refinement to Backdraft 2.0 — but that doesn’t mean that it’s a small update! I rebuilt each of the modules to use padding defined in percentages. This means that there is no more usage of faux-fixed-width pages, the really buggy Box Sizing action, and a lot fewer breakpoint modifications without affecting the output. Also, this will make Freeway itself a lot easier to work with inside the breakpoints. Basically, I’ve managed to remove a lot of the complexity that existed in the last version.

Also, there are a lot of other tweaks. More semantic headings, sane heading sizings, small bug fixes, flexible logos, and more. For the full changelog, see Backdraft Docs

This is a free update to a free framework that I’ve been developing and supporting for almost 3 years now. If you love Backdraft and have been using it commercially, I’d really appreciate if you would toss a bit into the tip jar. There are very real costs associated with building a framework like this. Not only is it time consuming to build and test, but also to write documentation. Of course, there are also other costs like hosting, the domain name, and screencast recording equipment on top of my time.

Enough of that; I’d love to see the websites you’ve built with Backdraft! Feel free to post the links as responses to this thread.

freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Stupid question! How do I get rid of previous versions of Backdraft when opening a new document?

freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden

Great question! You’ll find them in User/Library/Application Support/Freeway Pro/Templates/Responsive/. Just delete any ones you no longer want.

freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden

I thought that was a great answer! When looking in the Freeway folder in question, I can see 2 folders - ‘Actions’ and ‘Templates’. Strangely, both are completely empty.