[Express] Interfacing with MySQL

I am new to Softpress. I need to read data from MySQL and dynamically display the information on oue web site. What is the easiest way to do that in Softpress

dynamo mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
http://freewaytalk.net/person/options

Hi,
Here are some examples I did a few years ago:
http://easibase.com/freeway/phpmysql.php

This does not teach you MySQL or PHP but it does show one of the ways to use dynamic data with Freeway.

Hopefully this will be of help.

On Jan 7, 2012, at 12:11 AM, Ashok Iyer wrote:

I am new to Softpress. I need to read data from MySQL and dynamically display the information on oue web site. What is the easiest way to do that in Softpress

dynamo mailing list
email@hidden

dynamo mailing list
email@hidden

If your data is already in the database, and you are looking for a truly read-only option, then the first thing you need to do is figure out the data format in the database. You will need to know the names of all the columns, the name of the table(s) and you’ll need a username and password pair (set within MySQL) that is permitted to access this particular table or set of tables. (All of this is case-sensitive, by the way.)

Next, you need to know if your server supports PHP (most do). There are lots of other ways to integrate MySQL with a Web server, but PHP is far and away the most popular. It’s also good to find out what version of PHP and what version of MySQL you’re working with. It’s very rare to find a host anymore that is running anything less than PHP 5.1.something, and likewise for MySQL. (If yours is stuck back in the end of the previous century, then it’s really not a good idea to try to back-port your code to work. It’s much easier to find a better host.)