[Pro] Archiving

Creating an Archive does one thing that duplicating the folder doesn’t. It tells Freeway to use the new Site Folder automatically. Let’s say you have a site set up like this:

Project
    Art
    Copy
    Site Folder
    the_site.freeway

and you duplicate it, to

Project Copy
    Art
    Copy
    Site Folder
    the_site.freeway

When you open up Project Copy/the_site.freeway and make some changes, you will find that publishing will put the updates into Project/Site Folder rather than Project Copy/Site Folder. The Freeway documents will remain isolated, but the published product will go into the same place. Then, if you try to go back to the original and make changes, you will get the alert that ‘publishing will overwrite files that were not created by this document’.

The solution, after you duplicate the project folders, is to open the Site Preferences dialog and re-target the Site Folder to the new (duplicate) one. Then delete everything from the existing Project Copy/Site Folder and publish once. That will get you into the same state that the Archive command does for you automagically.

Walter

On Oct 23, 2018, at 12:10 AM, Harold Appel via freewaytalk email@hidden wrote:

I’m not sure all the links to files are preserved that way but will try it if archiving doesn’t work. Thanks.


freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
https://freewaytalk.softpress.com/person/options


freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:
https://freewaytalk.softpress.com/person/options