It is my understanding that when a site is published, pages and items that no longer exist on the site will be removed from the site folder. If in fact there are old files and items in the site folder that do not exist in the site, is there a way to remove them other than doing it manually?
is there a way to remove them other than doing it manually?
An alternative is to set up a New Site Folder to publish into.
File>Document Setup then under the Document Tab you can select/create a new folder for your site. Just click the Select button to start the process. It is a good idea to create the new folder separate from the old one and give it a specific name like ‘MySite_Nov12’
Now when you publish your entire site will be published into the new folder.
NB - this issue may have arisen if you are in the habit of poking about in your ‘Site Folder’ - this is no need for you to go in there at all as FW manages all these files for you. Best to stay out unless you KNOW what you are doing.