[Pro] Please say it’s so … [Muse, Freeway]

Sorry for starting a fresh thread, but man I’m frustrated today.

I’m an indie artist, I don’t have time to keep on top of changing web code standards but I like to maintain small, non-template-looking web sites for my projects. Years ago I used Adobe GoLive; when they killed that around the time Macs went Intel, I searched and searched and switched to Freeway. When Softpress apparently shut down, I searched and searched and switched to Adobe Muse, breaking down and finally subscribing to Creative Cloud so I could get it. Now I see — and somehow don’t remember ever being notified — that Adobe as end-of-life’d Muse and I need to move again.

I don’t want to search and search again. I randomly came here, and found that apparently Softpress is back from the grave, and is working on an all-new, 64-bit version of Freeway. Can it be true? My Muse sites can still be maintained for another year or so, hopefully. If Freeway 8? comes out this fall, I can easily bide my time again.

But if it doesn’t … I have to start from square one again, see if any other independent designer-focused web apps have cropped up in the meantime, or gulp consider switching to a template-based service.

I guess it comes down to … can I make myself trust a company that’s turned the lights off once before? Adobe has burned me at least twice now; will Softpress do the same? I’m really hoping and pulling for you guys; please, please don’t let me down! Good luck!

Please keep us posted!

freewaytalk mailing list
email@hidden
Update your subscriptions at:

Hi Crooner,

We are working on a 64-bit version of Freeway. Unfortunately, Apple have removed the 32-bit APIs that Freeway uses (instead of providing 64-bit replacements) so we’re rewriting Freeway from scratch. This is a major undertaking - but we’re making good progress, and we hope to have a public beta version ready later this year.