[Pro] Responsive Woes

The more I play with Responsive Design the more I dislike it. The concept is superb! But the way to realize that concept is a nightmare! That’s why I’ve deferred thinking about it too deeply until now. And I am only pondering it now because stupid Google is sending me emails about how my existing site is not suited for Mobile.

I hate code. That’s what brought me to Freeway 2 back in 1999. I am a visual designer. I know what I like when I see it. That’s why tools that have no WYSIWYG model remind me of early 1980’s DOS text editors. MacWrite on the Mac changed everything in 1984. Freeway is the MacWrite of “normal web design.” But when it comes to Responsive design, I feel I’m in a DOS text editor. Responsive is like getting my neck broken in a car accident and being able to see but not having my body respond. I mentally know what I want the page to look like every step of the way as the browser window is fully expanded on a Desktop PC and as it collapses. I just cannot for the life of me figure out how it make Freeway do what my mind wants Freeway to do.

I downloaded the BackDraft DEMO to see if that would get me started. It did. I was able to create a basic Responsive web page. But unless I just fall lock-step into the pre-determined copy/paste structures it offers, I run up against problems. Modifying the template parts and then refining the look of my mods is hard.

I see that Thomas has some nice videos available about GridMeister (i.e., how to properly design Responsive sites in Freeway), but I’ve not yet decided if I really am up to it. I need convincing, hence this post. I’ve exchanged one email with Caleb about BackDraft2, but since he’s on vacation now I’ve not had the chance to follow-up with him on the details. But I’m sure there are plenty of BackDraft2 users here and those of you with Responsive experience (like Thomas) who may be able to chime in.